The story of Wodan

The beginning

The nordic-teutonic genesis tells us as follows:

At the beginning of time, the two contrasting elements of frost and fire where seperated only by the vast chasm Ginnungagap. Niflheim is the realm of frost and fog, while Muspellsheim is the realm of fire.

As time continues, where the heat met the frost, the frost drops melted, creating the giant Ymir, and the sacred cow, Audhumla. Ymir fed himself by her milk. The cow licked from the ice, revealing Buri, progenitor of all asen.

Buris three grandsons, Wodan, Vili and Ve, killed the frost giant Ymir. With his corpse, the chasm Ginnungagap was closed, and the realms of Niflheim and Muspellsheim were connected. With his limbs, the world was created, and two tree stunks were used to form mankind. Wodan breathed them to life, Vili gave them their mind and reason, and Ve shaped them to their human form.

The world consists of many different countries: the humans are living in Midgard, the giants and trolls in Utgard, the elves and the asen in asgard. The dwarves are living hidden among the humans in Midgard and the giants and trolls in Utgard.

The battle for the throne

Now, the three brothers Wodan, Vili and Ve are struggeling to be king of gods, thus owning the right to ascend to throne of Valhalla. To find out which one of them is the best warrior, they have to prove themselves in battle.

The player takes over the role of Wodan, commanding his troops on the battlefield.

Die Geschichte von Wodan

Der Anfang

Die nordisch-germanische Schöpfungsgeschichte erzählt:

Am Anbeginn der Zeit stehen sich die Gegensätze Frost und Feuer gegenüber. Niflheim ist das Reich von Frost und Nebel, Muspellsheim ist das Land der Flammen. Getrennt werden sie von der großen Schlucht Ginnungagap.

Im Laufe der Zeit erwärmen die Flammen das Eis, und es entstehen der Frostriese Ymir und die Kuh Audhumla. Ymir ernährt sich von Audhumlas Milch. Die Kuh leckt das Eis auf, und dabei leckt sie aus dem Eis den Stammvater der Asen, Buri, hervor.

Buris drei Enkel, Wodan, Vili und Ve, töten den Frostriesen Ymir. Mit seinem Körper decken sie die Schlucht Ginnungagap zu und verbinden die Reiche Niflheim und Muspellsheim. Aus Teilen des Körpers formen sie die Welt. Aus zwei Baumstämmen erschaffen sie die Menschen. Wodan haucht ihnen das Leben ein, Vili verleiht ihnen den Verstand, und Ve verleiht ihnen ihre Gestalt.

Die Welt besteht aus mehreren Ländern: Die Menschen leben in Midgard, die Riesen und Trolle in Utgard, die Elfen in Alfenheim und die Asen in Asgard. Die Zwerge leben versteckt bei den Menschen in Midgard und bei den Riesen und Trollen in Utgard.

Der Kampf um den Thron

Nun streiten die drei Brüder Wodan, Vili und Ve darum, wer der König der Götter sein wird und den Thron Walhallas besteigen darf. Um herauszufinden, wer von ihnen der beste Krieger ist, müssen sie sich im Kampf bewähren.

Der Spieler schlüpft nun in die Rolle Wodans und befehligt seine Truppen auf dem Schlachtfeld.