Tutorial

This is a tutorial on how to play Dragonboard (and more generally speaking the variation of Mah-Jongg used in this game). In this chapter, you will learn how to play Mah-Jongg and what it's all about.

In the following we will simply refer to this solitaire variation as Mah-Jongg although this is not quite correct. The "true" Mah-Jongg is an ancient board game for exactly four players which bears a distant resemblence to the western game of Rummy (very distant indeed, for the rules are far more complex). So we would like to apologize in advance to all passionate "true" Mah-Jongg players for abusing the name Mah-Jongg for this profane solitaire game ;-).

We suggest you read this and the following pages of the tutorial if you are not familiar with the concepts and the rules of Mah-Jongg.

So first on, a little history teaching on Mah-Jongg. You don't necessarily need to know the historical background of this game to actually play it. So if you are not interested in this, you can directly go to the next page introducing you to the rules of play.

The history of Dragonboard / Mah-Jongg

The game of Mah-Jongg originates from ancient China. The exact age of this game is unknown. One Legend says, that it was already played during the Shang dynasty (1500 - 1000 b.c.). Yet, following another legend, the game of Mah-Jongg at first evolved during the Chou dynasty (1000 - 221 b.c.). However, it is acertained that in the old China there was a close relationship between board games, playing cards and tiles. Mah-Jongg first evolved as a card game until these card were replaced with tiles made of bamboo. These tiles had the shape we still know today. Approximately 600 years before now, the game became popular amongst river-sailors. They were the first to use tiles instead of cards. The reason for that was obviously, that the cards were often dragged over board by the winds. During the Ming dynasty (1368 - 1644 a.d.) Mah-Jongg evolved as national game.

There exist many variations of the game of Mah-Jongg. Obligatory gaming rules only exist in the american an japanese versions. All these variations have in common, that the tiles are being built up on a table in a certain way and the game is similar to the card game of Romm�. The variation played in Dragonboard has been made popular mainly by computer games. In this version of the game tiles are built up pair-wise and then need to be taken from the board.

In China there are many names for the game: Ma-Tsue-Pai (dragon battle), Pung chow (game of the winds), Be shan - Be sh�n (100 warriors - 100 victories) or Ma-Ts�e. In the whole western world it is called Mah-Jongg, insinuating to the sparrow. This bird is displayed on the first tile of the sticks suit.

Well that's enough for history by now. So let's go on to the next page and learn something about the rules.

Tutorium

Dieses Tutorium führt sie Schritt für Schritt in die Regeln von Dragonboard und im Allgemeinen der Solitair-Variation von Mah-Jongg, die in diesem Spiel benutzt wird. In diesem Kapitel werden sie lernen, wie man Mah-Jongg spielt und was dahinter steckt.

Der Einfachheit halber werden wir im folgenden diese Solitair-Variante einfach Mah-Jongg nennen, obwohl das nicht ganz korrekt ist. Denn Mah-Jongg ist eigentlich ein altes chinesisches Spiel für 4 Spieler, das entfernt dem westlichen Rommée-Spiel ähnelt (aber wirklich nur sehr entfernt - die Regeln sind viel komplexer). Somit möchten wir uns im voraus bei allen begeisterten "echten" Mah-Jongg-Spielern entschuldigen, daß wir diesen Namen für die profane Solitair-Variante verwenden.

Falls sie noch nicht mit den Regeln von Mah-Jongg vertraut sind, empfehlen wir, daß sie diese und die folgenden Seiten aufmerksam durchlesen.

Zuerst also eine kleine Lektion in Geschichte. Sie benötigen die folgenden Informationen nicht unbedingt, um Dragonboard zu spielen und um die Regeln zu verstehen. Wenn Sie also nicht an der Geschichte interessiert sind, können Sie direkt zur nächsten Seite über die Spielregeln springen.

Die Entstehungsgeschichte von Mah-Jongg

Das Mah-Jongg-Spiel stammt aus China. Das genaue Alter dieses Spiels ist unklar. Nach einer Legende wurde es bereits in der Shang-Dynastie (1500 bis 1000 v.Chr.) gespielt. Nach einer anderen Legende entstand das Spiel erst in der Chou-Dynastie (1000 bis 221 v. Chr.). Fest steht allerdings, dass im alten China ein enger Zusammenhang zwischen Brettspielen, Spielkarten und Spielsteinen bestand. Mah-Jongg war zunächst ein Kartenspiel, bis dann aus den Karten kleine Spielsteine aus Bambus wurden, in der Form, die wir heute kennen. Vor ungefähr 600 Jahren wurde das Spiel unter Flussschiffern beliebt; sie verwendeten erstmals Steine anstelle der Karten, die der Wind immer über Bord wehte. Während der Ming-Dynastie (1368 bis 1644 n.Chr.) entwickelte sich Mah-Jongg zum chinesischen Nationalspiel.

Es gibt viele unterschiedliche Varianten des Mah-Jongg. Verbindliche Spielregeln gibt es nur in der japanischen und in der nordamerikanischen Version. Bei all diesen Spielarten werden die Steine nach bestimmten Regeln auf dem Tisch aufgebaut. Sie weisen entfernte Ähnlichkeiten mit dem Rommé-Spiel auf. Die Version, bei der die Steine paarweise abgebaut werden, ist hauptsächlich als Computerspiel bekannt geworden. Über die Entstehung dieser "destruktiven" Variante gibt es keine Erkenntnisse.

Das Spiel ist in China unter mehreren Namen bekannt: Ma-Tsue-Pai (Drachenschlacht), Pung chow (Spiel der Winde), Be shan - Be shön (100 Krieger - 100 Siege) oder Ma-Tsüe. In der ganzen westlichen Welt heisst es überall Mah-Jongg, auf deutsch Hanf-Sperling. Dieser Vogel ist immer auf dem ersten Spielstein der Sticks abgebildet.

Aber nun genug von der Geschichte. Auf geht's zu den Regeln!